Degree Requirements & Course Descriptions

The English curriculum prepares the student in written and analytical skills and acquaints the student with a wide range of literature.  An English major qualifies a student for employment in educational institutions, business and industry, and communications.  It is a frequently recommended major for students interested in pre-law, journalism, or library work.

Degrees/Certificates

Merced College offers the following degrees/certificates in English:

  • English (AA-T)

See Degree Requirements & Course Descriptions

Career Opportunities

  • Advertising
  • Interpreter
  • Librarian
  • Public Relations
  • Columnist
  • Grant Writer
  • Paralegal
  • Editor
  • Teacher
  • Publisher
  • Attorney
  • Manager
  • Technical Writer

Which English Class Should I Take?

Speak with a counselor for help with an academic plan

To Help You Succeed

English Faculty

Name Position Email Office Phone
William Baker Professor of English william.baker@mccd.edu IAC-248 (209) 386-6721
Michael Barba Professor of English, Puente barba.m@mccd.edu IAC-261 (209) 381-6407
Cindy Chavez Professor of English chavez.c@mccd.edu LB-B- (209) 386-6722
Josh Daughdrill Professor of English  daughdrill.j@mccd.edu IAC-245 (209) 381-6533
Dr. Sean Epstein-Corbin Professor of English sean.epstein-corbin@mccd.edu IAC-257 (209) 386-6754
Diana Ferrell Professor of English

Diana.ferrell@mccd.edu

IAC-241 (209) 384-6383
Susan Flatt Professor of English  flatt.s@mccd.edu IAC-244 (209) 384-6222
Stephanie Koepnick Professor of English stephanie.koepnick@mccd.edu ART-9 (209) 381-6442
Melissa Fries Professor of English melissa.fries@mccd.edu IAC-243 (209) 384-6392
Heather Gonzalez Professor of English heather.gonzalez@mccd.edu IAC-259 (209) 386-6779
Amy Hundley Professor of English   hundley.a@mccd.edu IAC-263 (209) 384-6315
Pam Huntington Professor of English Pamela.Huntington@mccd.edu IAC-255 (209) 381-6500
Jessica Johnston Professor of English Johnston.j@mccd.edu LB-B (209)
Dr. Shirley Kahlert Professor of English shirley.kahlert@mccd.edu IAC-220 (209) 381-6401
Susan Kimoto Professor of English kimoto.s@mccd.edu LB-A-130 (209) 381-6590
Taylor Lankford Professor of ESL & English Taylor.lankford@mccd.edu IAC-247 (209) 384-6306
Jason (John) Long Professor of English  long.j@mccd.edu LB-B-117 (209) 386-6724
Jeremy Mumford Professor of English mumford.j@mccd.edu IAC-238 (209) 384-6178
Jennifer McBride Professor of English  mcbride.j@mccd.edu IAC-239 (209) 384-6376
Kevin Nelson Professor of English kevin.nelson@mccd.edu LB-B-124 (209) 386-6723
Keri Ortiz Professor of English keri.ortiz@mccd.edu IAC-240 (209) 384-6152
Dr. Myshel Pimentel Professor of English myshel.pimentel@mccd.edu COMM-13 (209) 384-6364
Denise Rempel Professor of English denise.rempel@mccd.edu COMM-20 (209) 384-6388
Jory Taber Professor of English  taber.j@mccd.edu IAC-223 (209) 381-6534 
Dr. Candace Hull Taylor Professor of English  candace.taylor@mccd.edu IAC-260 (209) 384-6336
Ryan Toth Professor of English ryan.toth@mccd.edu VOC-127 (209) 384-6026
Meg Withers Professor of English meg.withers@mccd.edu IAC-258 (209) 384-6151